Wheat Flower

The wheat plant is a tall annual and typically grows to a height of four feet (1.2 meters). The leaves, similar to those of other grasses, appear early and are followed by slender stalks that produce flowers. Flowers that are fertilized produce seeds called grains or kernels. The wheat kernel is made up of three parts: the endosperm, the bran, and the germ. The tiny germ is the part of the kernel that will sprout and grow into a new wheat plant if the seed is planted.

Featured in:

Share this page: